Always an honor to be nominated…

I’m afraid that Charlaine and I did not win the PEARL for Wolfsbane and Mistletoe after all, and none of our three nominated stories won, either.  

I won’t pretend I’m not disappointed–I’m not that good an actress. But honestly, it was a delight to be a PEARL finalist, even if only for a day. It also introduced me to the ParaNormal Romance group and a lot of writers I wasn’t very familiar with. That’s one heck of a consolation prize.

Here are the winners, by the way. Congratulations to all!



Winners:  After Dark  by Sherrilyn Kenyon, Susan Squires, J. R. Ward, and Dianna Love and Blood Lite edited by Kevin J. Anderson

Honorable Mention:  The Magical Christmas Cat  by Nalini Singh, Lora Leigh, Erin McCarthy, and Linda Winstead Jones


Winner:  Dark Light by Jayne Castle

Honorable Mention:  Heart Fate by Robin D. Owens



Winner:  Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

Honorable Mentions:  Rogue by Rachel Vincent and Hotter After Midnight by Cynthia Eden


New author

Winner:  Ann Aguirre

Honorable Mention:  Jocelynn Drake 


Magical Fantasy

Winner:  Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Honorable Mention:  The Darkest Pleasure by Gena Showalter

Sci-Fi Fantasy

Winner:  Shades Of Dark by Linnea Sinclair

Honorable Mention:  Dragonborn by Jade Lee



Winner:  Lover Enshrined by J. R. Ward

Honorable Mention:  Wait Till Your Vampire Gets Home by Michele Bardsley

Time Travel

Winner:  Viking Unchained by Sandra Hill

Honorable Mention:  Twist by Colby Hodge

Novella/Short Story

Winner:  “Story of Son” by J.R. Ward in Dead After Dark

Honorable Mention:  “Kung Fu Shoes” by Jade Lee in These Boots Were Made For Stomping

Best Overall

Winner:  Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Honorable Mention:  One Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

2 thoughts on “Always an honor to be nominated…

Comments are closed.